Robert  E.  Harbaugh, MD, FAANS, FACS
Robert E. Harbaugh obtained his M.D. from the Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine and his general surgery and neurosurgery training at Dartmouth. He was appointed Assistant Professor of Surgery (Neurosurgery) at the Dartmouth Medical School in 1985 and progressed to the rank of Professor of Surgery (Neurosurgery) in 1997. During his career at Dartmouth, Dr. Harbaugh served as Director of the Cerebrovascular Disease Center, Director of the Neurosurgical Laboratory and as acting Residency Program Director.

In 2003 Dr. Harbaugh accepted the position of tenured Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery, Neurosurgery Residency Program Director and Professor of Engineering Science and Mechanics at the Pennsylvania State University. He has since been promoted to the rank of University Distinguished Professor and appointed as the Director of Penn State University’s Institute of the Neurosciences. In 2013 he was named a Penn State Alumni Fellow, the highest award of the Penn State Alumni Association. He also holds a clinical appointment as Guiding Professor of Neurosurgery at Huanhu Hospital in Tianjin, China.

Dr. Harbaugh has been an invited speaker throughout the world. His research interests include clinical trial design, outcomes analysis, quality improvement in neurosurgery and neural engineering. He has edited three books and published more than 300 articles, book chapters and abstracts on various neurosurgical topics. He has served on the editorial boards of Neurosurgery, the AANS Neurosurgeon, the Journal of Neurovascular Disease, the Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences and Neurobiology of Aging.

Dr. Harbaugh has obtained research funding from the NIH, NATO, USDA, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, industry, foundations and other organizations.

He is a member of the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS), the Society of Neurological Surgeons (SNS), the American Academy of Neurological Surgery (AAcNS), the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS), the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS), the AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section (CVS), the AANS/CNS Tumor Section, the American Stroke Association (ASA), the American Heart Association (AHA) Stroke Council, the New England Neurosurgical Society (NENS), the Pennsylvania Neurosurgical Society (PNS) and the American College of Surgeons (ACS).

Dr. Harbaugh has held numerous leadership positions in these organizations, including SNS Member at Large, President-Elect and President, AANS Treasurer, President-Elect and President, Member at Large of the Academy Executive Committee, Director, Treasurer and Vice-Chair of the ABNS, Academic Councilor of the PNS, and the Leadership Committee of the AHA Stroke Council. He has served as Chair of the CVS, the AANS/CNS Washington Committee and as President of the NENS and the Chair of the NeuroPoint Alliance, Inc. As of this writing in 2016 he is serving as the Past-President of the AANS and President of the SNS..

Dr. Harbaugh also serves as a member of the National Football League’s Head, Neck and Spine Committee and its Injury Surveillance Committee, as a member of the Strategic Vision Committee of the Federal Interagency Traumatic Brain Injury Registry (FITBIR), the Board of Trustees of the Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Lebanon Valley College and the Saint Joan of Arc School.

He has five children, Katherine, Alaric, Thaddeus, Gwennyth and Beatrice and is married to Kimberly S. Harbaugh, M.D., a neurosurgeon specializing in peripheral nerve surgery.

  New Search

Copyright © 2008-2014 The Society of Neurological Surgeons